Our governance is structured around three bodies: a Board, Working Groups and a Secretariat.


The Governing Board provides strategic guidance and oversight to the development and implementation of the partnership. Board members represent all key REAP stakeholder groups, including developed and developing countries, international institutions, civil society and the private sector.

For practical reasons, the Board does not include a member from every partner given the size of the partnership; rather, a rotation of Board representation will be considered at regular opportunities.

The Board is co-chaired by two members, approved by the members of the Board for a term of 1 year. Decisions by the REAP Board are made by consensus under the guidance of the co-chairs.

You can see the list of current Board Members and Board Co-Chairs below

Board members

Dr Fatumanava-o-Upolu III Dr. Pa’olelei Luteru
Dr Fatumanava-o-Upolu III Dr. Pa’olelei Luteru, Co-Chair of the Board
Ambassador and Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Samoa to the United Nations
Anil Pokhrel Nepal
Mr. Anil Pokhrel
Chief Executive, National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Authority, Government of Nepal
Mr. Md. Kamrul Hasan ndc
Mr. Md. Kamrul Hasan ndc
Secretary, Ministry of Disaster Management and Relief, Bangladesh
Ms. Outi Myatt-Hirvonen
Ms. Outi Myatt-Hirvonen
Senior Adviser, Development Policy, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland
Heike Henn
Dr. Heike Henn
Director for Climate Policy, Energy, Urban Development and Environment (ad interim), Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), Germany
Naoko Nakajima
Ms. Naoko Nakajima
Director, Climate Change Adaptation Office, Global Environment Bureau, Ministry of the Environment, Japan
Ms. Lucy Mtilatila
Ms. Lucy Mtilatila
Director, Department of Climate Change and Meteorological Services, Ministry of Forestry and Natural Resources of Malawi
Kimberly Louis
Ms. Kimberly K. Louis
Deputy Permanent Representative, Permanent Mission of Saint Lucia to the United Nations, Saint Lucia
Gerard Howe
Mr. Gerard Howe, Co-Chair of the Board
Deputy Director, Adaptation, Nature and Resilience Department, Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office, UK
Dominique Burgeon
Mr. Dominique Burgeon
Director, Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) Liaison Office with the United Nations Office in Geneva
Shoko Noda
Ms. Shoko Noda
Assistant Secretary-General & Director, United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) Crisis Bureau
Paola Albrito UNDRR
Ms. Paola Albrito
Director, United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR)
Lisa Doughten
Ms. Lisa Doughten
Director of Humanitarian Financing and Resource Mobilization, United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (UN OCHA)
Valerie N. Guarnieri
Ms. Valerie N. Guarnieri
Assistant Executive Director, World Food Programme (WFP)
Mr. Daniel Kull
Mr. Daniel Kull
Director, Resource Mobilization and Development Partnership, World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
Claudia Thyme
Ms. Claudia Thyme
Director, Strategic Market Development, AXA XL; Member of Insurance Development Forum (IDF) Operating Committee and Co-Chair of IDF Sovereign & Humanitarian Solutions (SHS) Working Group
Xavier Castellanos
Mr. Xavier Castellanos Mosquera
Under Secretary General, National Society Development and Operations Coordination, IFRC
Christina Bennett
Ms. Christina Bennett
Chief Executive Officer, START Network